Peace Palace

125th Anniversary First Hague Peace Conference

On 18 May 1899, more than a  hundred delegates from twenty-six countries met in The Hague to discuss disarmament, international jurisdiction and arbitration. A result of this “First Hague Peace Conference” was the establishment of the Permanent Court of Arbitration and the Peace Palace. In 1907, the “Second Hague Peace Conference” was organized in which 44 countries participated.