



## **Carnegie Wateler Peace Prize 1931-2022**

"The property as such of the capital ... as well as the remainder of my possessions ... I dote to the State of the Netherlands under the condition that ... the yearly revenue in round figures will be spent for the award of a prize to him or her, who in whatever way, through word, deed or example, literature, sculpture or painting, in the country or abroad, has been most meritorious in the furthering of the peace ideal, or in contributing to finding means to render the horror of war more and more impossible in the long run."

Testimony J.G.D. Wateler, The Hague, 16 November 1916



- 2022 The Centre for Humanitarian Dialogue (HD)
- 2018 Rudi Vranckx, war correspondent
- 2016 Sigrid Kaag, UN, special envoy to the Middle East
- 2014 Lakhdar Brahimi, UN, special envoy for peacekeeping missions
- 2012 War Child the Netherlands
- 2010 Jeremy Gilley, Peace One Day
- 2008 Patrick Cammaert, former commander of UN peacekeeping missions
- 2006 Javier Solana, former secretary-general of NATO
- 2004<sup>1</sup> Theo van Boven, Special Rapporteur of the UN Human Rights Commission
- 2001 Office of the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
- 2000 Liliane Fund
- 1998 The Permanent Court of Arbitration (ceremony in 1999)
- 1997 Jaap Ramaker, Permanent Dutch representative at UN Disarmament Conference (ceremony in 1998)
- 1996 Rolf Ekéus, Chairman of the UN Special Committee on Iraq (UNSCOM) (ceremony in 1997)
- 1995 Max van der Stoel, Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) High Commissioner for Minorities (ceremony in 1996)
- 1994 Jewish Cultural and Humanitarian Society La Benevolencia Sarajevo, Bosnia-Herzegovina (ceremony in 1995)
- 1993 Eelco Krijn, his wife Karin Krijn and their child Zita (posthumously), medical family working for Memisa (ceremony in 1994)
- 1992 Wilhelm Huber, SOS Children's Villages International, Germany (ceremony in 1993)
- 1991 Municipality of Leiden, City of Refugees initiative
- 1990 Jiri Hájek, Federal Republic of the Czech Republic and Slovakia, co-founder of Charta 77
- 1989 Doctors Without Borders, Netherlands
- 1988 Brian Urquhart, Former UN Under-Secretary-General and initiator of UN Peacekeeping missions
- 1987 Dutch Disability Council Foundation, Utrecht

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> In 2003, it was decided to renew the Wateler Peace Prize. From then on, the prize was called the Carnegie Wateler Peace Prize, and awarded every 2 years from 2004.



- 1986 Verghese Kurien, board chair National Dairy, India
- 1986 UNIFIL, UN peacekeeping force in Lebanon
- 1985 International Commission of Jurists (ICJ), Geneva
- 1984 Herman van Roijen, former Dutch ambassador, involved in the resolution of the New Guinea conflict.
- 1983 Hermann Gmeiner, philanthropist and founder of SOS Children's Villages International, Austria
- 1982 Cornelis Brouwer, UNHCR representative in The Hague and founder of the Refugee Foundation
- 1981 Danny Kaye, first Goodwill Ambassador of the UN Children's Rights Organisation (UNICEF)
- 1977 Salvation Army, the Netherlands
- 1976 Manfred Lachs, Former President and Polish judge of the International Court of Justice
- 1975 Max Kohnstamm, co-founder of the European Communities
- 1974 Henry Kissinger, peace agreement negotiator for the Vietnam War
- 1973 Addeke Boerma, UN Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO), initiator of world campaign to combat hunger.
- 1972<sup>2</sup> Alva Myrdal, Stockholm, Swedish representative at UN Disarmament Conference, treaty against nuclear proliferation
- 1971 Bert Röling, former Tokyo Tribunal judge, founder of the Pomological Institute
- 1970 International Social Service, Genève
- 1969 Dutch Association for International Law, Utrecht
- 1968 Coretta Scott-King, widow Martin Luther King, USA, non-violent action for civil rights
- 1967 Inter-church Consultation in Radio Affairs (I.K.O.R.), the Committee for Wild Geese Broadcasting
- 1966 La Communauté de Taizé, France
- 1965 Eduard van Beinum Foundation, Breukelen
- 1964 World Federation of Associations for the United Nations (WFUNA)
- 1963 Youth Volunteer Programme

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> From 1972, for the first time, in addition to the award, a ceremony was organised in the Great Hall of Justice at the Peace Palace.



- 1962 Dag Hammarskjöld Minnesfonds, Stockholm
- 1961 Willem Visser 't Hooft, first secretary-general of the World Council of Churches
- 1960 Marguérite Nobs, Genève, founder of World Union of Women for International Concord (UMFCI)
- 1959 Youth Hostels Development Fund Foundation
- 1958 Georges Moens de Fernig, Brussels, banker, and Commissioner-General of the World's Fair Expo '58 in Brussels
- 1957 Adriaan Pelt, former Dutch representative to the League of Nations
- 1956 UNICEF (United Nations Children's Fund)
- 1955 Gerrit Jan van Heuven Goedhart, First UN High Commissioner for Refugees
- 1954 Anthony Eden, London, former minister in the British War Cabinet, co-initiator of the United Nations Charter
- 1953 Dutch Council of European Movement, The Hague
- 1952 Jean Monnet, Paris, co-founder of the European Communities
- 1951 Dirk Stikker, former foreign minister, co-founder of NATO and the European Communities
- 1950 Institut des Hautes Etudes Internationales, Geneve
- 1949 The Hague Academy of International Law, The Hague
- 1948 World Council of Churches, Geneva
- 1947 Henri van der Mandere, writer and peace activist, co-founder Association for League of Nations and Peace
- 1939 American Friends' Service Committee, Philadelphia en Friends' Service Council, London
- 1938 The Dutch Youth Hostel Association and the Ecumenical Association in the Netherlands
- 1937 Robert Baden Powell, founder International Scouting
- 1936 Hague Academy of International Law, The Hague
- 1935 Radio Broadcasting Service of the League of Nations, Geneva
- 1934 Dutch branch of the World Alliance for International Friendship through the Churches
- 1933 Arthur Henderson, president of the Conference on Disarmament of the League of Nations, Geneva
- 1932 Association for League of Nations and Peace, The Hague
- 1931 Eric Drummond, Secretary-General of the League of Nations and the Union Internationale des Associations pour la Société des Nations, Brussels